Good In Bed by Jennifer Weiner

Find it here on Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/14748.Good_in_Bed

Description from Goodreads: For twenty-eight years, things have been tripping along nicely for Cannie Shapiro. Sure, her mother has come charging out of the closet, and her father has long since dropped out of her world. But she loves her friends, her rat terrier, Nifkin, and her job as pop culture reporter for The Philadelphia Examiner. She’s even made a tenuous peace with her plus-size body.

But the day she opens up a national women’s magazine and sees the words “Loving a Larger Woman” above her ex-boyfriend’s byline, Cannie is plunged into misery…and the most amazing year of her life. From Philadelphia to Hollywood and back home again, she charts a new course for herself: mourning her losses, facing her past, and figuring out who she is and who she can become.

I don’t usually read the typical “chick-lit” books that many are fans of. Mostly because I don’t like all the whiny, woe-is-me, and why-can’t-I-find-a-man story lines. I did take a chance on this novel because my mother gave me free rein to order 10 audiobooks for us using her account. I wanted to get us a wide variety of books and try a few new authors. I have seen several of Jennifer Weiner’s novels around at book stores and library sales, so I thought I would take a chance and try it.

I wasn’t expecting much going in; especially after the recent flop when I listening to Big Girl by Danielle Steel. I knew that the book wouldn’t be a life changing read. I simply wanted something somewhat light and the plus-size protagonist had me intrigued. Good in Bed turned out to be what I had wanted and expected from Big Girl. I felt her struggle with weight was more realistic and I bonded to the character much more.

I rated it 3 of 5 stars. I would recommend this book to anyone that enjoys a simple read (or listen in this case).

Leave a Reply

